
 
Texas Prescription Monitoring Program 

                    Frequently Asked Questions  
 
 Is TSBP going to renew my Controlled Substances Registration? 
 
No, a registration with the Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and a license  
with a Texas Board is now required to handle controlled substances. 
 
 Is the supervising physician’s name required to be on an official prescription form  
      for mid-level practitioners? 
 
Yes, the official prescription forms ordered by mid-level practitioners must include the  
supervising physician’s name and DEA number.  
 
 Why can’t you print any address I request on the forms? 
 
The forms are printed based on your DEA Registration. The address on the DEA registration  
will be the address printed on the official prescription forms. 
 
  Do I need official prescription pads for each of my office locations?  
 
No. As long as the pre-printed DEA numbers are correct and current, the prescriptions can  
be used anywhere. This applies not only to multiple locations, but also when offices have  
moved, causing a change in address.  
 
 What should I do with old triplicate forms?  
 
The triplicate prescription form and official prescription forms issued by the Texas  
Department of Public Safety (DPS) will continue to be valid.  However, if the pre-printed  
DEA Registration Number is no longer valid, then the unused and voided forms should be  
returned to Texas State Board of Pharmacy, Texas Prescription Program, at 333  
Guadalupe, Suite 3-600, Austin, Texas, 78701.   
  
 Can I use another doctor’s prescription forms? 
 
No. The official prescription forms are not transferable.  
 
 What are the laws regarding faxed prescription forms?  
 
A pharmacist may dispense a Schedule II controlled substance pursuant to a facsimile copy  
of an official prescription completed in the manner required by  §481.074(o), Texas Health  
and Safety Code.  
 
 
 
 
 
 



 Can controlled substance prescriptions be prescribed electronically?   
 
Both Texas and federal laws allow controlled substance medications to be prescribed  
electronically provided the federal requirements have been met.  Additional information  
regarding electronic prescribing requirements is available at:  
http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/ecomm/e_rx/ 
 
 
 How long does a patient have to fill a prescription? 
 
An official prescription, written for a Schedule II controlled substance, must be filled within  
21 days after the date the prescription was issued.  If the practitioner issued multiple official  
prescriptions to a patient, in compliance with §481.074(d)(1), Texas Health and Safety  
Code, then the prescription must be filled within 21 days after the earliest fill date indicated. 

 
The Texas Controlled Substances Act allows practitioners the option of issuing multiple  
Official Prescription forms to a patient at one time. Each Official Prescription form of the  
multiple set must be written for the identical Schedule II controlled substance  
prescription, and the total quantity of the multiple set may not exceed a ninety (90) day  
supply. 
 
 
 Can an official prescription form be used for all controlled substances? 
 
Yes, but not recommended. Please see §§481.074 and 481.075, Texas Health and Safety  
Code.  
 
 Am I required to report theft or loss of prescription forms? 
 
Yes, the theft or loss of an official prescription form must be reported and the details of the  
theft or loss must be provided to, 

 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy  
Texas Prescription Program  
333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-600  
Austin, TX 78701  
texaspmp@pharmacy.texas.gov 

 
 Can a pharmacy obtain a waiver from electronically reporting the dispensing of  
      controlled substances?  
 
No. All records must be reported via the Texas PMP Clearinghouse.                                                 
https://pmpclearinghouse.net  
 
 Can Mid-Levels order Official Prescription pad to prescribe CII’s?  

       Please refer to the Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 481.075 and the Texas                                       
       Occupations Code Chapter 157.0511, for information on Mid-Levels authority to prescribe,  
       dispense, or administer Schedule II medication. 

 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

 What cannot be changed on a Schedule II prescription? 
 

Name of the patient  
Name of the drug  
Name of the prescribing physician  
Date of the prescription 

 
Any other item, such as the strength of the drug, quantity of the drug, and directions for use, 
MAY BE CHANGED PROVIDED, the pharmacist: 

(1) contacts the prescribing physician and obtains verbal permission for the change; and 
(2) documents on the prescription the following information: 

(a) change that was authorized; 
(b) name or initials of the individual granting the authorization; and 
(c) initials of the pharmacist. 

 
 Electronic Copies of the Drug Laws and Rules for the Prescription Monitoring 

Program are available at the following links: 
 
 Health and Safety Code 481 
 
 Texas Administrative Code  

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=22&pt=15&ch=315&rl=Y
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.481.htm

