The Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
issues licenses for Veterinarians (DVM),
Licensed Veterinary Technicians (LVT),
and Equine Dental Providers (EDP).
Applicants must pass the state licensing exam prior to becoming licensed in Texas. The state licensing exam includes jurisprudence questions related to the Veterinary Licensing Act (laws), and Licensing Rules (Chapter 571) and Rules of Professional Conduct (Chapter 573).
The licensing exam will now be given on-demand at participating COMIRA Testing Centers nationwide. We are no longer using scheduling windows. You will be able to apply for your license at any time, and will be approved to take the exam as soon as we determine that your application is complete. We will begin processing applications for on-demand testing on January 1, 2016. Once your application is complete, you will be emailed instructions on how to schedule and take your exam. Your license will be issued within 7 business days after receiving your passing score from the testing center.
Application Processing Time Information
Processing time varies for each application. It
depends on how complete the application is, and how
quickly the outstanding requirements are met. This could
range from a few days to a few weeks, depending upon the
type of application.
We'll let you know if there is missing or incomplete information. Please check your email (regular and spam email) for information from a licensing staff member. If we don't have an email address for you, we will call you.
On January 1, 2016 license renewals will convert from
a March 1st renewal date to a birth-month renewal system.
This means that your license will now expire on the last
day of your birth-month. You will renew your
license on the last day of your birth-month in 2016
instead of by March 1st, as in previous years. A
reminder letter will be sent to your mailing address on
file at least 30 days before your expiration date, but
it is ultimately your responsibility to renew your
license on-time. For faster processing, it is
recommended that you use the online system to renew your
license. It is against state law to practice
veterinary medicine with an expired license.
To see full instructions on how to renew under this new policy and to see the renewal fees for 2016, please access our online renewal system here. If you wish to renew your license by mail, please request a paper renewal form by email: firstname.lastname@example.org or call 512-305-7555.
Is your contact information current?
In order to serve you better, we must have your
correct physical home, employment, and mailing addresses
in our system. You may use a P.O. Box for your mailing
address, but we must have your physical home address as
well. If your contact information isn't current in
our system, please complete and submit the contact
information change form found
You are required to provide the Board with your new
address or employment information within 60 days of a