
   

 

Renewal Notices: 

As with prior renewal years, the agency will send out renewal post-
card reminders on or about January 3rd for renewal year 2014. All 
veterinarians should renew their license on-line at 
www.tbvme.state.tx.us (unless you are delinquent for renewal year 
2013) by March 1, 2014. Equine Dental Provider (EDP) license 
holders cannot renew on-line. A renewal packet will be mailed on or 
about January 3, 2014 to the mailing address on file with us.  See 
page 3 for fee amounts. 

Practicing With An Expired License is Illegal: 

All licensees should be aware that if they have not renewed their 
license by March 1, 2014, they must cease practicing until the li-
cense has been renewed.  The law requires that all licensees not 
practice without a current license. Penalties for practicing with an 
expired license can include a reprimand, a $1,000 per day fine, or 
other disciplinary measures. 

 

 

Renewal Year 2014 Continuing Education Require-

ments: 

Veterinarians must have attained 17 hours of acceptable continuing 
education during calendar year 2013 (January 1—December 31). Of 
those 17 hours, seven must have been obtained from personal at-
tendance at live seminars. EDP licensees must have attained 6 
hours of acceptable continuing education during calendar year 
2013. 

Individuals who were unable to attain their required CE hours due to 
circumstances beyond their control may apply to the agency’s execu-
tive director for a hardship extension. Requests for the hardship 
extension must be received by December 15, 2013. Each request 
should list the number of hours attained, the number of hours 
needed and the reason the licensee was unable to meet the require-
ment. If an extension is granted, the number of hours lacking must 
be made up the following year. 

When renewing on-line, there will be an option to certify that you 
have not attained the required number of continuing education 
hours.  This information will then be forwarded to the Enforcement 
division for follow-up. 

L I C E N S E  R E N E W A L S  

Board Notes 
Fall/Winter 2013 A Publication of the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners Nicole Oria, Executive Director 
Phone: (512) 305-7555 Email: vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us  Website: www.tbvme.state.tx.us Fax: (512) 305-7556 
 
 
Bud E. Alldredge, Jr., DVM, President Joe Mac King, DVM, Vice President Janie Carpenter, DVM, Secretary 
Dan Craven, DVM J. Todd Henry, DVM Roland Lenarduzzi, DVM 
James McAdams Manuela “Mamie” Salazar-Harper Chad Upham 
 

Licensed Veterinary Technician Information 
 

A new law was recently passed by the 83rd Legislature and it authorizes the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners to license and 
regulate veterinary technicians.  This law becomes effective on September 1, 2014.    
 

Should you wish to gain a veterinary technician license and become a Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) in Texas, you may do so by 
completing the application and submitting it with ALL required supporting documentation AFTER December 15, 2013.   
 

The law allows a ‘grandfathering’ period that ends on August 31, 2014.  Between December 15, 2013 and August 31, 2014, you may 
download the application and submit it with ALL required documentation and a $70 fee. 
 

In order to be eligible for licensure under the ‘grandfather’ provisions, you must: 
1.  Submit the application with all supporting documentation and fee; AND 
2.  Submit verification from TVMA (Texas Veterinary Medical Association) showing current registration through TVMA; AND 
3.  Gain a license by no later than August 31, 2014. 
Please note that having an application on file does not mean that you hold a license.  We must issue you a license with an issue and 
expiration date before you are considered licensed as an LVT. 
 

After September 1, 2014, an individual may not use the term ‘LVT’ or refer to themselves as a ‘Licensed Veterinary Technician’ without a 
license.  Giving the impression that one holds a license is against the law.  A license to work as a veterinary technician is not mandatory; 
however, it is an option available to you. 
 

The application will be available on December 15, 2013.  It will be downloadable from our web site under the “License Information” tab. 
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§571.11 Provisional Veterinary Licensure: 
The Board adopted the amendment to 
close a loophole that allowed individuals 
who failed to take the state board exam in 
a timely manner to renew their provisional 
licenses potentially indefinitely, without 
ever taking the State Board Exam. 

§571.57 Application of Monetary Funds to 
Outstanding Balances: The Board adopted 
the amendment to clarify that unpaid fees 
or hearing costs assessed against a licen-
see must be paid when the licensee re-
news, in addition to the licensure fees.   

§573.50 Controlled Substances Record-
keeping for Drugs On Hand: The Board 
adopted the amendment to clarify that 
keeping drug records by bottle rather than 
by type of drug is not allowed and creates 
an added risk of diversion because a di-
verter could easily remove a whole bottle 
along with the record that applied to that 
bottle, making it difficult for the veterinar-
ian to discover and determine that any of 
the drug inventory was missing without 
going through the time-consuming process 
of checking all drug log records against 
the original invoices. This amendment 
clarifies and prevents future confusion by 
specifying that licensees must keep an 
accurate total of the balance on hand by 
drug, rather than by bottle. 

§573.51 Rabies Control: The Board 
adopted the amendment to correct a typo-
graphical error in the rule, “Suspension” to 
“Supervision.” 

§573.52 Veterinarian Patient Record 
Keeping: The Board adopted the amend-
ment to create an exception from the pa-
tient record keeping requirement that 
requires veterinarians to record drug con-
centrations. The exception allows a veteri-
narian to not record a concentration for 
drugs that are only FDA-approved in a 
single concentration. The purpose of the 
patient record keeping requirements is to 
provide details necessary for other veteri-
narians, or for the Board, to be able to 
understand what happened in the treat-
ment of the animal, including what drugs 
were prescribed and in what concentra-
tions. When there is only one concentra-
tion of a drug is FDA-approved and avail-
able in a non-compounded form, the con-
centration is not necessary for the Board 
or another veterinarian to understand 

what happened in the treatment of the 
animal.  

§575.50 Criminal Convictions: The Board 
adopted an amendment to §575.50 to 
clarify its authority by adding an explicit 
references to §801.401 and §801.402 of 
the VLA, which give the Board authority to 
discipline licensees for crimes “connected 
with” the practice of veterinary medicine. 
The amendment also adds the “connected 
with” language from §801.401 and 
§801.402 of the VLA to §575.50, in addi-
tion to the “relate to” language from Ch. 
53 that is already in the rule, to clarify that 
the rule applies to both statutes.  

§575.63 Board Approval of Equine Dental 
Provider Certification Programs: The Board 
adopted the new rule to create a proce-
dure that the Board will follow to deter-
mine whether to approve equine dental 
provider certifying organizations. Under 
the new rule, the Board cannot approve 
an equine dental provider certifying or-
ganization that also has an educational 
degree program for equine dental provid-
ers, because combining education and 
certification in one entity creates an inher-
ent conflict of interest. The rule sets forth 
the information an applicant organization 
must submit for the Board to review, in-
cluding information on finances and train-
ing for staff. The applicant organization 
must also submit a $1500 application fee, 
to cover the Board’s costs of reviewing the 
application and to ensure that only finan-
cially stable organizations apply for board 
approval. The applicant organization must 
identify a director, who must be licensed 
as either a veterinarian or an equine den-
tal provider in Texas and have ten years of 
experience in the practice of equine den-
tistry.  All examiners that work for a board-
approved certifying entity must be li-
censed as either an equine dental pro-
vider or a veterinarian in Texas and have 
five years of experience in the practice of 
equine dentistry. A board-approved certify-
ing organization must test applicants for 
certification on equine anatomy, harm and 
potential side effects of associated with 
equine dentistry, sterilization and disease 
control, and the legal limits of a licensed 
equine dental provider’s legal practice, 
including the requirements and limitations 
of supervision by a veterinarian. A board-
approved certifying organization must 

retain documents and records for five 
years. After the applicant organization 
submits the required information, a board 
representative may conduct a survey visit 
to gather information on some aspect of 
the application that is not clear from the 
documentation submitted, such as to see 
the organization’s facilities or to observe a 
practical examination. When board staff 
has finished gathering information, the 
application for board approval goes before 
the full Board, which can approve the ap-
plication, deny it, defer it for further inves-
tigation, or grant approval with conditions. 
If an applicant leaves an application inac-
tive at any stage in the application process 
for more than one year, the applicant or-
ganization will have to start over with a 
new application. If the Board denies the 
application, the applicant organization will 
have to wait a year before applying again. 
After the Board approves an equine dental 
provider certifying program, if the program 
closes, the certifying organization must 
notify the Board of the closure and create 
a plan for records preservation. The Board 
can rescind approval for a certifying pro-
gram if it fails to comply with Board rules 
and requests or lacks sufficient financial 
resources. If the Board rescinds approval, 
the organization must wait a year before 
reapplying for approval. 

577.15 Fee Schedule: The Board adopted 
the amendments to add fees for Veteri-
nary Technician licenses and to increase 
fees for veterinarians by $1 to cover the 
increase in revenue required by the Legis-
lature. The amendment also adds a fee for 
application processing for organizations 
seeking board approval as an equine den-
tal provider certifying entity under new 
Rule 575.63. 

Board Adopts Changes to Rules 
At the October 22, 2013 Board meeting, the Board voted to adopt the following rules. 

These rules go into effect on December 23, 2013. 
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LICENSE RENEWAL FEES 
 
During the October 22, 2013 meeting the Board voted to adopt the following fees for 2014: 
 
Veterinarians Equine Dental Providers 
  Renewals - $370   Renewals—$200 
  Delinquent Renewals (90 days or less) - $450   Delinquent Renewals (90 days or less) - $300 
  Delinquent Renewals (90 days or more) - $531   Delinquent Renewals (90 days or more) - $400 
  Inactive Renewals - $170   Inactive Renewals—$100 
  Delinquent Inactive Renewal (90 days or less) - $250   Delinquent Inactive Renewal (90 days or less) - $150 
  Delinquent Inactive Renewal (90 days or more) - $331   Delinquent Inactive Renewal (90 days or more) - $200 
  Special License Renewal - $365 
  Delinquent Special Renewal (90 days or less) - $445 
  Delinquent Special Renewal (90 days or more) - $526 

I N S I D E  T H I S  I S S U E :  

Licensed Veterinary Technician  
Information 

1 

License Renewals 1 

Board Adopts Changes to Rules 2 

License Renewal Fees 3 

Holiday Closures 3 

Enforcement Issues 4 

Continuing Education Offerings 5 

In Memoriam 7 

2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates 7 

New Members Appointed to the Board 8 

New Board Officers 8 

Board Proposes Changes to Rules 9 

Do We Have Your Current Address? 10 

 

Upcoming TBVME Office Holiday 

Closures 
The TBVME offices will be closed on the following dates: 

December 24—26, 2013 in observance of Christmas. 

January 1, 2014 in observance of New Year’s Day 

January 20, 2014 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 

February 17, 2014 in observance of Presidents’ Day 

 
Upcoming Board Meeting Dates 

 
February 18, 2014 

June 3, 2014 
October 21, 2014 



Page 4   Board Notes 

 

ENFORCEMENT ISSUES 
Disciplinary Actions 

 

The following veterinarians have had disciplinary actions taken against their licenses. If you would like to receive additional information re-
garding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, you may search for copies of disciplinary orders on the verification page 
of our website, or you may send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guada-
lupe, Suite 3-710, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us.  

Name License 
# 

City, State Disciplinary 
Date 

Discipline Disciplinary 
Order 

Brooke Ashley, DVM 12674 Lake Jackson, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand 2013-149 

Tracie Barry, DVM 8123 Stephenville, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-154 

Gary Brackeen, DVM 3862 Angleton, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty; 2 
1/2 additional hours of CE in anesthesia 

2013-130 

Scott Briers, DVM 7918 Conroe, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; 3 additional hours of CE in sur-
gery 

2013-142 

Glen Campbell, DVM 6791 Richardson, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty; 3 
additional hours of CE in record keeping 

2013-141 

Chad Dickson, DVM 7634 Aubrey, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; must take and pass the jurispru-
dence exam 

2013-139 

Jonathan Dyes, DVM 7446 Rosenberg, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand 2013-170 

Jeffrey Gaiser, DVM 7519 Stephenville, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-153 

James Gerhardt, DVM 10694 Stephenville, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-155 

George Gibson, II, DVM 3407 El Paso, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; 3 hours additional CE in record-
keeping; must take and pass the jurisprudence 
exam 

2014-05 

James Hofmann, DVM 7005 Crosby, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-158 

Douglas Johnson, DVM 2923 Angleton, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-148 

Byron Jones, DVM 4966 Denton, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand 2013-144 

Misty Jordan, DVM 10414 Burleson, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty 2013-138 

Mark Jousan, DVM 10118 Center, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-14 

Shelby Key, DVM 10821 Kerrville, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; must take and pass the jurispru-
dence exam; must submit written protocol that pro-
vides for exam of every animal no more than 1 day 
prior to surgery or rabies vaccination 

2012-105 

Spencer Knapp, DVM 7017 Crosby, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-157 

Lawrence Koym, DVM 3598 Mason, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; must take and pass the jurispru-
dence exam 

2012-104 

Robert Langley, Jr. , DVM 7764 Alvin, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $2,000 administrative penalty 2013-180 

James Marek, DVM 6272 Bellville, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,500 administrative penalty; 
must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2013-177 

Continued on page 5 
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Name License 
# 

City, State Disciplinary 
Date 

Discipline Disciplinary 
Order 

Thomas Martin, DVM 6663 Houston, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative pen-
alty; 18 additional hours of CE 

2013-169 

Helen Philips, DVM 10436 Brenham, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative pen-
alty; 6 additional hours of CE in Linear External 
Skeletal Fixation 

2014-01 

Curtis Sanders, DVM 4185 Austin, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand 2013-140 

William Taylor, Jr., DVM 3653 Longview, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand 2014-09 

Jackie Valerius, DVM 2224 Mercedes, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative pen-
alty; 6 additional hours of CE in record Keep-
ing 

2013-146 

Sarah Vick, DVM 10966 Georgetown, TX 10/22/13 Revocation 578-13-4844 

Jason Zollinger, DVM 9640 Weatherford, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative pen-
alty 

2013-156 

Carl Hicks, EDP EDP-11 Winnsboro, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative pen-
alty 

2013-164 

Verna Samford, EDP EDP-40 Waco, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative pen-
alty 

2013-125 

Darren Smith, EDP EDP-16 Houston, TX 10/22/13 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative pen-
alty 

2013-124 

Disciplinary Actions Continued... 

Continuing Education Offerings 

Information on available CE may be obtained through the following sources.  Additional offerings may be available through other 
sources. For information on what is considered “acceptable” CE, please refer to Board Rules 573.64 and 573.65. 

RACE 
(Registry of Approved Continuing Education) 

 
Search for Available CE:  http://www.aavsb.org/RACE/Search 
 
RACE requires approved providers to issue signed certificates of 
completion, maintain attendance records for four years and pro-
vide qualification of instructors and CE personnel who develop and 
implement courses. 
 

Texas A&M 
 
Phone: (979) 845-9102 
Fax: (979) 862-2832 
Email: ceoffice@cvm.tamu.edu 
 

Texas Veterinary Medical Association 
 
www.tvma.org 
8104 Exchange Dr. 
Austin, TX 78754 
Phone: (512) 452-4224 
Fax: (512) 452-6633 

Continued on page 6 
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Disciplinary Actions Continued... 
In addition to the disciplinary actions previously listed, there were an additional 22 actions taken against veterinarians at the October 22, 
2013 meeting.  If you would like to receive additional information regarding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, 
please send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN:  Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-810, 
Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us 

Number of 
Licensees Dis-

ciplined 

Violation Type Sanction Disciplinary Date 

5 Failure to obtain required amount of continuing 
education 

Administrative penalty and additional hours of con-
tinuing education 

10/22/13 

7 Failure to maintain DPS or DEA controlled sub-
stance registration 

Administrative penalty 10/22/13 

3 Failure to maintain adequate patient records Informal reprimand, additional continuing education 10/22/13 

1 Advertising with a representation or implication 
that services are superior in quality to those of 
other licensees 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to inform client that requested veterinar-
ian reasonably believed there was a possibility 
another veterinarian would perform some or all 
of patient’s treatment 

Informal reprimand 10/22/13 

1 Failure to notify the board within 60 days of a 
change of address 

Administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to establish a VCPR prior to ordering 
delivered prescription drugs 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to supervise a non-veterinarian perform-
ing euthanasia 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to maintain readily retrievable copy of 
rabies vaccination certificates and failure to 
maintain rabies vaccination records indexed by 
vaccination tag numbers 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to include all required information on 
official rabies certificates and incorrectly telling 
clients their animals would need rabies booster 
shots within one year when the animals had 
received three-year rabies vaccinations 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 

1 Failure to adequately notify client that dogs 
were considered abandoned and they had been 
placed into new homes 

Informal reprimand 10/22/13 

1 Failure to diagnose pleural effusion from radio-
graphs 

Informal reprimand 10/22/13 

1 Failure to euthanize animal after client author-
ized, his staff convinced him to do exploratory 
surgery to see if canine could be saved  

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 10/22/13 



Page 7   Board Notes 

 

In Memoriam… 
“Let us hold our lives up to the light of those who walked before us, remembering the footprints they left be-
hind and preserving the pathways they created.” 

Jack Fritts, Texas A&M Class of ‘53 
Name City, State Vet School/Grad Year Date of Death 

Robert Edward Bartlett, DVM Canyon Lake, TX Colorado/1955 April 27, 2013 

Lecreca Ann Taliaferro, DVM Haslet, TX TAMU/1994 May 8, 2013 

Glen Alan Clarke, DVM Houston, TX Kansas State/1958 June 27, 2013 

Clifton Daniels, Jr., DVM Atlanta, TX TAMU/1966 July 7, 2013 

Jamie Martin Ahumada, DVM Dallas, TX TAMU/1984 August 29, 2013 

Charles A. Banker, Jr., DVM Chappell Hill, TX TAMU/1949 August 31, 2013 

Amanda Denise Noble, DVM Houston, TX TAMU/1997 September 19, 2013 

Jerome B. Kearby, DVM Houston, TX TAMU/1948 September 23, 2013 

Perry D. Stein, DVM San Antonio, TX TAMU/1941 October 13, 2013 

Gregory Glen West, DVM Jacksboro, TX TAMU/1992 October 25, 2013 

James Harlan Steele, DVM Houston, TX Michigan State/1941 November 10, 2013 

James Carroll, DVM Corsicana, TX TAMU/1952 November 24, 2013 

Stewart McConnell, DVM College Station, TX TAMU/1949 December 4, 2013 

2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates 
State Board Examination (SBE) Schedule 

 

All State Board Exams, with the exception of the April exam, will be administered at participating COMIRA testing centers.  Please 
read the deadline dates carefully. An application must be submitted to TBVME for ALL exams to determine eligibility for veterinary 
licensure in Texas. 

 

April 2014 
Date of Exam: April 7, 2014 
Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: February 21, 2014 
Location: Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 
 
Only approved applicants will be able to purchase and schedule the exam through our website. 
 
June 2014 
Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: April 25, 2014 
Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: May 12—23, 2014 
Window for taking the exam: June 9—20, 2014 
 
August 2014 
Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: June 27, 2014 
Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: July 14—25, 2014 
Window for taking the exam: August 11—22, 2014 
 
October 2014 
Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: August 29, 2014 
Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: September 15—26, 2014 
Window for taking the exam: October 13—24, 2014 
 
December 2014 
Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: October 24, 2014 
Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: November 10—21, 2014 
Window for taking the exam: December 8—19, 2014 
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NEW MEMBERS APPOINTED TO THE BOARD 
 

 
 
 

Dan Lee Craven, DVM of Crockett is a veterinarian and owner of Crockett Veterinary Hospital. He re-
ceived a bachelor’s degree and veterinary medicine degree from Texas A&M University.  Dr. Craven re-
places David Rosberg, DVM of Mason, for a term to expire August 26, 2019. 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Roland Lenarduzzi, DVM of Alvin is a veterinarian and owner of Manvel Animal Clinic. He received a 
bachelor’s degree and veterinary medicine degree from Texas A&M University.  He is an active member 
of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), Texas Veterinary Medical Association (TVMA), 
local VMAs and the Texas Academy of Veterinary Practice.  Dr. Lenarduzzi replaces John Clader, DVM of 
Jourdanton, for  a term to expire August 26, 2019. 

 
 
 

James “Jim” McAdams of Seguin is a is a fourth generation rancher, real estate broker and managing 
partner of McAdams Cattle Company. He received a bachelor’s degree from Texas A&M University. He 
is past president of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association and of Cattle-Fax. Mr. McAdams replaces 
Richard “Rick” Bonner, Jr. of Corpus Christi, for a term to expire August 26, 2019. 

 

New Board Officers 
 

During the October 22, 2013 meeting, the Board elected Joe Mac 
King, D.V.M. as Vice-President and Jane A. Carpenter, D.V.M. as 
Board Secretary. 

 
The Board and Staff of the Texas Board of Veterinary 

Medical Examiners would like to wish you all a safe and 
Happy Holiday season! 
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BOARD PROPOSES CHANGES TO RULES 
 
At the October 22, 2013 Board meeting, the Board voted to publish the following proposed rules in the Texas Register for com-
ment.  Once the rules have been published, they will also be available on our website at http://www.tbvme.state.tx.us/

§571.1 Definitions.  This amendment adds definitions for Licensed 
Veterinary Technicians (LVT), VTNE as the Veterinary Technician Na-
tional Examination, LVTE as the Licensed Veterinary Technician juris-
prudence examination, Veterinary Technician Program as a program 
of education for veterinary technicians accredited by the American 
Veterinary Medical Association, and amends the definition of 
“Passing Score” to include the LVT passing score of at least 75 per-
cent on the VTNE. 

§571.4 Qualifications for Licensed Veterinary Technicians. This new 
rule specifies the qualifications for a Licensed Veterinary Technician. 
The rule requires the LVT applicant to present satisfactory proof that 
they are at least 18 years old, has obtained a passing score on the 
VTNE and the LVTE, and is a graduate of a Veterinary Technician Pro-
gram. 

§571.5 Qualifications for Veterinary License. This amendment in-
cludes §§801.401 and 801.402 of the Texas Occupations Code to 
the reasons the Board may deny licensure to an applicant for veteri-
nary license who meets the qualification criteria but is otherwise sub-
ject to denial under those two sections of law. 

§571.6 Qualifications for Equine Dental Provider License. This 
amendment includes §§801.401 and 801.402 of the Texas Occupa-
tions Code to the reasons the Board may deny licensure to an appli-
cant for an equine dental provider license who meets the qualifica-
tion criteria but is otherwise subject to denial under those two sec-
tions of law. 

§571.17 Expedited Licensure Procedure for Military Spouses. This 
amendment consolidates the expedited licensure procedures for 
military spouses that are veterinarians and equine dental providers in 
one place and add a procedure for military spouses that are licensed 
veterinary technicians. The amendments also set out expedited licen-
sure procedure requirements. 

§571.21 Application for the SBE and EDPE. This amendment adds 
the Licensed Veterinary Technician jurisprudence examination to the 
title and rule regarding the application process for the SBE and EDPE. 

§571.23 Veterinary Licensing Examination. This amendment 
changes the title and rule to add national board examinations for 
licensed veterinary technicians. It specifically adds the Veterinary 
Technician National Examination to the list of sources from which the 
Board will accept certified scores and in regard to the Board’s proc-
ess for answering request for information on examination scores. The 
amendment further adds the Licensed Veterinary Technician jurispru-
dence examination to the list of when the Board may certify jurispru-
dence exam scores and make them available to other licensing 
boards. 

§571.25 Reapplication for SBE and EDPE. This amendment adds the 
Licensed Veterinary Technician jurisprudence examination to the title 
and rule regarding the reapplication process for taking the SBE and 
EDPE. 

§571.54 Retired Veterinary License Status. This amendment adds 
the Licensed Veterinary Technician jurisprudence examination to the 
title and rule regarding the reapplication process for taking the SBE 
and EDPE. 

§571.60 Expired Equine Dental Provider Licenses. This amendment 
adds that LVTs will have their license expire on March 1 of each cal-
endar year unless renewed properly prior to that time. A licensee who 
fails to renew his or her license for one year or more may request 

that his or her license be reinstated by appearing before the Board to 
explain why the license was not renewed (unless that LVT is a military 
spouse) and by taking and passing the LVTE. 

§571.61 Inactive Veterinary License Status. This amendment 
changes the title of the section and makes the rule applicable to all 
licenses issued by the Board. 

§571.62 Inactive Equine Dental Provider License Status. This pro-
posal deletes the rule as it is being consolidated with §571.61 as 
proposed. 

§573.2 Avoidance of Encroachment on Another’s Practice. This 
amendment adds that a licensee who makes a complaint against 
another licensee that is groundless and brought in bad faith, for the 
purpose of harassment, retaliation, or for any other improper purpose 
shall be in violation of a rule of professional conduct. 

§573.10 Supervision of Non-Licensed Persons. This amendment 
changes the title of the section and adds provisions regarding LVTs. 
The amendment provides that when determining the level of supervi-
sion and duties of non-veterinarians, veterinarians should consider 
whether the individual is licensed by the Board as well as the level of 
training and experience of the non-veterinarian.; when feasible, a 
veterinarian should delegate greater responsibility to a LVT than to an 
unlicensed person.  

§573.11 Responsibility for Unlicensed Employees. This amendment 
adds that a LVT supervising an unlicensed employee of a veterinarian 
is responsible for any acts committed by the unlicensed employee of 
a veterinarian related to the practice of veterinary medicine. The 
amendment also states that when a LVT is acting under the supervi-
sion of a veterinarian and violates a law, regulation, or board rule, 
both the veterinarian and the LVT are subject to discipline by the 
Board. 

§573.12 Responsibility for Licensure of Licensed Persons. This 
amendment adds LVTs to the responsibility of a veterinarian to en-
sure they are actively licensed by the board if the veterinarian em-
ploys or supervises them. 

§573.13 Delegation and Supervision Relating to Official Health Docu-
ments. This amendment allows a veterinarian to permit a non-
licensed employee under the immediate supervision of a LVT to col-
lect samples from animals for official tests unless otherwise prohib-
ited by law. 

§573.14 Alternate Therapies—Chiropractic and Other Forms of Mus-
culoskeletal Manipulation. This amendment deletes the reference to 
“diagnosis” in the definition of animal chiropractic and other forms of 
musculoskeletal manipulation. Diagnosis is specifically the domain of 
licensed veterinarians on nonhuman animals. 

§573.19 Dentistry. This amendment allows a LVT under the direct or 
immediate supervision of a veterinarian to extract loose teeth or den-
tal fragments with minimal periodontal attachments by hand and 
without the use of an elevator in dogs or cats only. 

§573.64 Continuing Education Requirements. This amendment adds 
continuing education requirements for LVTs and makes non-
substantive changes in titles of subsections within the rule. 

§573.65 Proof of Acceptable Continuing Education. This amendment 
adds continuing education requirements for LVTs. 

Continued on page 10 
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§573.71 Operation of Temporary Limited-Service Veterinary Services. 
This amendment removes the ability for a veterinarian to notify the 
Board of the operation of temporary limited-service veterinary ser-
vices by telephone call. 

§575.8 Final Decision and Orders. This amendment adds LVTs to the 
rule regarding the Board’s ability to change findings of fact and con-
clusions of law or vacate or modify any proposed order of an Adminis-
trative Law Judge under certain circumstances. 

§575.22 Reinstatement of Licenses. This amendment adds LVTs to 
the rule regarding the reinstatement of licenses. 

§575.24 Reprimands. This amendment adds LVTs to the rule provid-
ing that a formal reprimand from the Board will be reported to the 
American Association of Veterinary State Boards for inclusion in the 
national database. 

§575.25 Recommended Schedule of Sanctions. This amendment 
adds Licensed Veterinary Technicians in the recommended schedule 
of sanctions. This also adds having to take the LVTE as a possible 
penalty in the different classes of violations. 

§575.35 Temporary License Suspension Proceedings. This amend-
ment adds LVTs to the procedure for temporary license suspension 
proceedings. This also changes the language in regard to the docu-
ments necessary to file for an administrative hearing by replacing the 
Board’s option of filing a “complaint affidavit” with the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings (SOAH) with the filing of a “notice of hearing” 
with SOAH. 

§575.50 Criminal Convictions. This amendment adds LVTs to the 
process whereby the Board may suspend or revoke an existing li-
cense, disqualify a person from receiving a license, or deny a person 
the opportunity to be examined for a license because of a person’s 
conviction of a felony or misdemeanor if the crime directly relates to 
the duties and responsibilities of an LVT. 

§577.5 Advisory Committees. This new rule provides the authoriza-
tion to the Board president to appoint, disband or reconvene advisory 
committees as necessary. 

§577.12 Directory of Licensees. This amendment adds LVTs in the 
Board’s directory of licensees available to the public in printed or 
electronic format. 

§577.16 Responsibilities of Board and Staff. This amendment adds 
LVTs to the responsibilities of the Board and Staff for establishing 
policies and promulgating rules to establish and maintain a high 
standard of integrity, skills, and practice in the professions of veteri-
narians and equine dental providers. 

Chapter 577 Rule Review: As required by Texas Government Code  
§2001.039, the TBVME is proposing a rule review of Chapter 577.  

Proposed Rules Continued... 

DO WE HAVE YOUR CURRENT ADDRESS? 
 

All licensees are required to provide the Board with valid contact information.  Rule 573.75, Notification of Licensee Addresses, 
states: 
 (a) Each licensee shall report to the Board the licensee’s: 
  (1) name and license number; 
  (2) clinic or practice name; 
  (3) physical business address; 
  (4) mailing address; 
  (5) residence address; 
  (6) business telephone number; and 
  (7) residence and/or cellular telephone number. 
 (b) A mailing address may be a post office box number. If a remote practice location does not have a physical business 
address, the licensee must provide as the physical business address sufficient directions as to how the practice location may be 
found. 
 (c) A relief veterinarian shall not be required to provide a clinic or practice name or a physical business address unless 
the relief veterinarian regularly conducts the largest percentage of his or her relief work at one clinic. 
 (d) A licensee who conducts a mobile practice with no fixed clinic location shall not be required to provide a physical 
business address. 
 (e) A licensee shall notify the Board of any change of items required under subsection (a) of this section not later than 
the 60th day after the change takes place. 
 
In addition to the items listed in the above rule, the Board also maintains email addresses.  All licensees who have provided a 
valid email address to the Board will receive not only the renewal postcard notification, they will also receive a renewal reminder 
by email. Please ensure that your information is correct in our files. Failure to comply may subject a veterinarian to disciplinary 
action. 
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Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810 
Austin,  Texas 78701 

Phone: 512-305-7555 
Fax: 512-305-7556 
E-mail: vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us 
Website: tbvme.state.tx.us 

Our Mission: 
 
The mission of the Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners is to establish and enforce policies to ensure the 
best possible quality of veterinary services for the people of 
Texas. 
 
 

Our Goals: 
 
The Board and its staff will ensure that Texans are effectively 
and efficiently served by quality veterinary professionals by 
setting clear standards for professional conduct, by assuring 
compliance with the rules of professional conduct and the 
community standard of care, and seeking solutions to issues 
that strengthen the profession and protect the public. 

The TBVME is on Facebook, you can find 
us at http://www.facebook.com/tbvme 

Did You Know??? 
 
Unless you owe for more than the current year, all veterinary licensees can renew their license online through our website. 
 
 

Peer Assistance 
 

 
If you or someone you know has a substance abuse problem, it is far better to voluntarily participate in the Peer Assis-
tance Program than to run the risk of disciplinary action, up to and including license revocation.  The toll free hotline 
number is (800) 727-5152. 
 
 

ADA Accommodations 
 
The TBVME does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age or disability in employ-
ment or in the provision of services, programs, or activities.  Individuals requesting reasonable accommodations 
should contact the Board’s ADA Coordinator, Loris Jones, at 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, TX 78701-3998, or 
call (512) 305-7555 or by email at loris.jones@tbvme.state.tx.us. 


