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NEWS FROM TEXAS ANIMAL HEALTH COMMISSION 
 

Veterinarians, do you issue health certificates for livestock?  Do you perform Coggins testing or test for Equine Piroplasmosis?  Do you 

offer Brucellosis, Tuberculosis, Trichomoniasis, or Chronic Wasting Disease testing through your practice?  The laws and regulations 

regarding your eligibility to participate in the Texas Animal Health Commission disease control and eradication programs have changed.  
 

As a result of enhanced statutory authority found in Section 161.0417 of the Texas Agriculture Code (Section 161.0417 of the Texas 

Agriculture Code), The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) recently adopted Chapter 47 of the Texas Administrative Code.  Chapter 

47 implements a new Authorized Personnel Program that is similar to the earlier Texas Bovine Brucellosis Program Approved Personnel; 

however, the new program is not limited to Brucellosis.  The Authorized Personnel Program regulations and requirements apply to veteri-

narians that perform work in any state or federal disease control or eradication program.   
 

What do these changes mean for you?   
 

This summer, all Texas veterinarians who previously held brucellosis-approved status will receive individual, written notification from 

TAHC regarding the Authorized Personnel Program and the requirement to transfer your brucellosis-approved status to TAHC Authorized 

Personnel status.  We ask that you to sign and return that document to TAHC by September 1, 2014.   
 

If you had brucellosis-approved status with TAHC as of March 1, 2014, through training as a Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine 

student or training at a TAHC Regional Office, no additional training is required at this time.  However, you are welcome to attend any of 

our TAHC training opportunities if you wish to obtain free veterinary continuing education credits, or need additional review or training on 

a particular topic such as Brucellosis, Tuberculosis, Equine Piroplasmosis, Equine Infectious Anemia, Pseudorabies, Swine Brucellosis or 

Scrapie. 
 

TAHC also offers 1.5 hours of continuing education credits for our 90-minute certification course in Trichomoniasis and 1.5 hours of 

continuing education credits for our 90-minute certification course in Chronic Wasting Disease.  These courses are available by request 

through your TAHC Region Offices and periodically at regional veterinary conferences.  Watch the TAHC website and social media sites 

for announcements of these and future course offerings. 
 

As new disease programs emerge and as existing disease programs evolve, regulatory work in Texas becomes more complex.  The TAHC 

Authorized Personnel Program has enabled the agency to develop a more current and relevant infrastructure of oversight to address 

these new complexities.  This program is here to enhance the effectiveness of disease control and eradication programs by ensuring 

Texas veterinarians, who are the first line of defense against existing and emerging diseases, receive sufficient training for the TAHC 

regulatory programs.    
 

If you have any further questions regarding continuing education opportunities or the new TAHC Authorized Personnel Program, contact 

Dr. Susan Culp at (512) 719-0716 or by e-mail at susan.culp@tahc.texas.gov. 

NEWS FROM THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF 
VETERINARY STATE BOARDS 

 
VCET—Coming Soon! 

What is VCET?  Veterinary Continuing Education Tracking (VCET) is a centralized repository for veterinary CE information, an extension of 

VIVA with linkage to RACE approved programs.  VCET is a free service and offers online access for individual licensees to submit their CE 

courses and transmit reports to Member Boards in a uniform format. Release is scheduled for this Spring of 2014.  Future VCET devel-

opment will include a CE audit service for the Member Boards. 

http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=4&pt=2&ch=47
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=4&pt=2&ch=47
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§573.9 Nonresident Consultants. This amendment will allow for general supervision rather than direct supervision for nonresident 

consultations. 

§577.15 Fee Schedule:  This amendment will add fees for veterinary technician and equine dental provider licensures to cover the 

administrative costs associated with permitting renewals of licensure to occur on the internet, through a third party vendor. The 

amendment would increase fees for regular and inactive license renewals by $5 and would be effective January 1, 2015. 

BOARD ADOPTS CHANGES TO RULES 

At the June 3, 2014 Board meeting, the Board voted to adopt the following rules. 

BOARD PROPOSES CHANGES TO RULES 
 

At the June 3, 2014 Board meeting, the Board voted to publish the following proposed rules in the Texas Register for comment.  

Once the rules have been published, they will also be available on our website at http://www.tbvme.state.tx.us/rules.php. 

§573.10 Supervision of Non-Veterinarians. This amendment changes the word “should” to “may” in the sentence stating that 

“when feasible, a veterinarian should delegate greater responsibility to a licensed veterinary technician than to an unlicensed per-

son.” This mirrors the language in section 801.363 of the Veterinary Licensing Act.  This amendment also clarifies the exception for 

emergency care to state that if the rule is followed, the veterinarian is not in violation of the veterinary-client-patient-relationship 

requirement. 

 

§573.22 Professional Standard of Care. This amendment articulates the Board’s long held interpretation of the rule that the word 

“community” references a geographic community. 

 

§573.29 Complaint Information and Notice to Clients. This amendment establishes that veterinary technicians are not required to 

provide notice to clients as to how a client might file a complaint with the Board as that is required of the licensed veterinarian or 

licensed equine dental provider. 

 

§573.41 Use of Prescription Drugs. This amendment clarifies that licensed veterinarians must comply with the state and federal 

laws regarding prescription drugs. 

 

§573.43 Controlled Substances Registration. This amendment clarifies that licensed veterinarians must comply with the state and 

federal laws regarding controlled substances. 

 

§573.74 Management Services Organization in Veterinary Practice. This amendment provides that verbal contracts will not be 

considered evidence of compliance with this rule.  This amendment will clarify that an actual written contract between parties is 

required. 

 

§573.76 Notification of Licensee Addresses. This amendment removes the exemption of providing a physical business address for 

mobile practice veterinarians. 

 

§575.28 Complaints—Investigations. This amendment clarifies the timing of the report of investigation as drafted by the Board’s 

staff to conform to actual practice and to rule §575.29. The report on investigation is completed after the initial investigation is 

completed by the Board’s investigators and the full investigation is not complete until after the informal conference. 

 

§575.281 Complaints—Appeals. This amendment makes non-substantive changes to maintain conformity with terminology as used 

in the Veterinary Licensing Act. 

 

§575.29 Informal Conference. This amendment allows the general counsel to also conduct informal conferences in addition to the 

executive director and director of enforcement.  This also clarifies the Board’s policy and practice that anything reported by a licen-

see during an informal conference may be used against that licensee if the matter proceeds to a contested case before the State 

Office of Administrative Hearings or as a new complaint or investigation.  This amendment also clarifies that any evidence submit-

ted by the licensee during an informal conference becomes a part of the Board’s investigation file. 

 

 

Continued on Page 10 

http://www.tbvme.state.tx.us/rules.php
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE REGISTRATION  

RENEWALS 
 

 
As of February, DPS is only mailing out reminder postcards (not renewal forms as they have in the past). This is actually 

what we do as well. However, this is what is different: We allow the entire process to occur online. With DPS, you have to 

go to the DPS website, print the form, fill out the form and mail it in with your payment. You may also print the forms, fill 

them, out, scan them and send it by email to DPS and either mail the fee or pay the fee online. If you pay online and do 

not submit the form, this is insufficient to be registered. You will have only paid, not filled out the form. There is no follow 

up by DPS if someone has paid and not submitted the forms. They will keep your money and not tell you that the registra-

tion in incomplete.  It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure your controlled substances registration is timely renewed, 

and not doing so may result in disciplinary action by the Board. 

I N S I D E  T H I S  I S S U E :  

News From the Texas Animal Health Com-

mission 
1 

News from the American Association of 

Veterinary State Boards 
1 

Board Adopts Changes to Rules 2 

Board Proposes Changes to Rules 2 

Department of Public Safety Controlled 

Substance Registration Renewals 
3 

Holiday Closures 3 

Enforcement Issues 4 

Continuing Education Offerings 8 

2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates 7 

Reporting of Criminal Activity 8 

In Memoriam 9 

Policy for Continuing Education Require-

ments for Licensed Veterinary Techni-
9 

Do We Have Your Current Address? 10 

 

Upcoming TBVME Office Holiday 

Closures 

The TBVME offices will be closed on the following dates: 

July 4, 2014 in observance of Independence Day 

September 1, 2014 in observance of Labor Day 

November 11, 2014 in observance of Veterans’ Day 

November 26—27, 2014 in observance of Thanksgiving 

December 24—26, 2014 in observance of Christmas 

 
Upcoming Board Meeting Dates 

 
October 21, 2014 
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ENFORCEMENT ISSUES 
Disciplinary Actions 

 

The following veterinarians have had disciplinary actions taken against their licenses. If you would like to receive additional information re-

garding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, you may search for copies of disciplinary orders on the verification page 

of our website, or you may send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guada-

lupe, Suite 3-710, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us.  

Name License 

# 

City, State Disciplinary 

Date 

Discipline Disciplinary 

Order 

Robert Tiller, DVM 4002 Waskom, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years 

with all stayed and placed on probation; $1,000 

administrative penalty 

2013-49 & 

2013-152 

Jim Airhart, DVM 2385 Mesquite, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years 

with all but one week stayed and placed on proba-

tion; $1,000 administrative penalty; 3 additional 

hours of CE 

2013-73 & 

2013-82 

Bryan Shedd, DVM 9614 San Antonio, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2013-116 

Betty Drummond, DVM 8760 College Station, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand 2013-147 

Danielle Garcia, DVM 12900 Brenham, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty; 

take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2013-165 

Kelli Shomette, DVM 7460 Rockwall, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $2,000 administrative penalty 2013-175 

Jeffry Bynum, DVM 7822 Frisco, TX  02/18/14 Formal reprimand; pay restitution of $409.11 2014-03 

Elizabeth Hildreth, DVM 4960 Richmond, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty. 

Failure to remove reproductive organs during spay 

surgery; mitigating factors present. 

2014-12 

Jay Meyer, DVM 8248 Austin, TX 02/18/14 License suspended for 5 years with all stayed and 

placed on probation; must be monitored by a veteri-

narian for 1 year; must continue Peer Assistance 

contract 

2014-18 

Stephanie Webb, DVM 9124 Georgetown, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; 6 additional hours of CE (3 in 

ethics and 3 in recordkeeping) 

2014-19 

Steven Garner, DVM 5371 League City, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-25 

Daniel O’Neil, DVM 5338 Fredericksburg, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-29 

Rachel Brown, DVM 12333 Allen Park, MI 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; 3 additional hours of CE in emer-

gency medicine 

2014-31 

Shonda Stallings, DVM 12950 Hallettsville, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty; 

must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2014-35 

Mead McGee, EDP EDP-31 Tioga, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty; 

must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2014-36 

Liat Zilkha, DVM 10177 Austin, TX 02/18/14 Formal reprimand 2014-37 

Lisa Howe, DVM 6200 College Station, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand 2014-08 

Jeanne Chucle, DVM 7324 Houston, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,500 administrative penalty 2014-101 

Jeffery Gibbs, DVM 6426 Grapevine, TX 06/03/14 Termination of prior order 2001-09 

Continued on page 5 
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Disciplinary Actions Continued... 

Continued on page 6 

Name License 

# 

City, State Disciplinary 

Date 

Discipline Disciplinary 

Order 

Mary Jane Grant Ramos, 

DVM 

8128 El Paso, TX 06/03/14 Termination of prior order 2010-76 

Matthew Nimmo, DVM Appli-

cant 

Stonewall, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty 2014-103 

Thomas Hooper, DVM 6015 College Station, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years 

with all stayed and probated; $5,000 administrative 

penalty; must provide proof of current DPS registra-

tion; must complete an additional 2 hours of contin-

uing education 

2014-104 

Constance Sack, DVM 12944 Dallas, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for one year 

with all stayed and probated; must enter into and 

complete a peer assistance contract for 5 years; 

must notify employers of the disciplinary order 

2014-105 

Joel Akin, DVM 6921 Dallas, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years 

with all stayed and probated; $2,000 administrative 

penalty 

2014-107 

John Key, DVM 2339 Lubbock, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-117 

David Helcel, DVM 11365 Houston, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty; 

must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2014-123 

Jeanne Chucle, DVM 7324 Houston, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,500 administrative penalty 2014-124 

Ivan Muennink, DVM 6285 Seminole, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty 2014-131 

Kellie Herrington, DVM 10207 Argyle, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-158 

Joey Bryant, DVM 9787 Kyle, TX 06/03/14 Voluntary surrender of license 2014-159 

Patricia Rife, DVM 6862 Greenville, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $2,500 administrative penalty 2014-161 

Pamela Langston, DVM 7204 Round Rock, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty 2014-180 

Eliza Wilby, DVM 10932 Round Rock, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-181 

Sam Joy, DVM 10500 Lewisville, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 2014-182 

Randy Mullinix, EDP EDP-24 Whitesboro, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $900 administrative; must take 

an additional 6 hours of continuing education 

2014-189 

John Williams, DVM 4792 Grand Prairie, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years 

with all stayed and probated; $2,500 administrative 

penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

2014-190 

Charter Ramey, DVM 11059 Amarillo, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,000 administrative penalty 14-10 

Huey Beckham, DVM 7629 Houston, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $1,500 administrative penalty; 

must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

14-11 

Stephen Bowman, DVM 9302 Adkins, TX 06/03/14 Formal reprimand; $500 administrative penalty 14-14 

Terrence Mayronne, DVM 3954 Maxwell, TX 06/03/14 Voluntary surrender of license 14-18 

Stephen Tucker, DVM 11877 Houston, TX 06/03/14 Voluntary surrender of license 14-19 
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Continued on page 7 

Disciplinary Actions Continued... 

In addition to the disciplinary actions previously listed, there were an additional 13 actions taken against veterinarians at the February 18, 

2014 meeting.  If you would like to receive additional information regarding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, 

please send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN:  Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-810, 

Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us 

Number of 

Licensees Dis-

ciplined 

Violation Type Sanction Disciplinary Date 

3 Failure to obtain required amount of continuing 

education 

Administrative penalty and additional hours of con-

tinuing education 

02/18/14 

2 Failure to maintain DPS or DEA controlled sub-

stance registration 

Administrative penalty 02/18/14 

1 Default on student loan Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 02/18/14 

1 Failure to notify the board of an arrest and con-

viction during the licensure process 

Informal reprimand 02/18/14 

1 Failure to notify the board of an indictment for 

aggravated assault 

Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 02/18/14 

2 Failure to maintain adequate patient records Informal reprimand, administrative penalty and addi-

tional hours of continuing education in recordkeep-

ing 

02/18/14 

1 Failure to maintain adequate patient records 

and failure to notify the board of temporary 

limited service clinic 

Informal reprimand, administrative penalty, 3 addi-

tional hours of continuing education in recordkeep-

ing, must take and pass the jurisprudence exam 

02/18/14 

1 Failure to remove reproductive organs during 

spay surgery; mitigating factors present 

Informal reprimand 02/18/14 

1 Failure to inform and receive consent from cli-

ent for anesthesia for teeth cleaning 

Informal reprimand 02/18/14 

6 Failure to obtain required amount of continuing 

education 

Administrative penalty and additional hours of con-

tinuing education 

06/03/14 

9 Failure to maintain DPS or DEA controlled sub-

stance registration 

Administrative penalty 06/03/14 

1 Failure to assure a licensee employee meets 

the requirement regarding controlled substance 

registration 

Administrative penalty 06/03/14 

2 Failure to notify the Board of criminal activity Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 06/03/14 

1 Student loan default Informal reprimand and administrative penalty 06/03/14 

2 Failure to timely release patient records Informal reprimand 06/03/14 
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Cease and Desist Orders 
 

The following Cease & Desist Orders have been signed and approved by the Board. If you would like to receive additional information regard-

ing these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, please send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical 

Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-810, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us, or by fax to 

(512) 305-7574. 

Disciplinary Actions Continued... 

Name City, State Violation Disciplinary Date 

Desiree Karr Angleton, TX Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription 

vaccines or drugs without a license 

02/18/14 

Ric Redden, DVM Versailles, KY Performing musculoskeletal manipulation on animals without a 

license 

02/18/14 

Reginald Oliver Houston, TX Diagnosing the need for and administering a prescription anesthet-

ic to animals without a license 

02/18/14 

Susan Mooney League City, TX Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription 

vaccines or drugs without a license 

02/18/14 

Stephen & Lynette Freeman 

(Texas Pet Bed & Breakfast) 

Argyle, TX Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription 

vaccines or drugs without a license 

02/18/14 

Carol Ater-Brackeen Angleton, TX Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription 

vaccines or drugs without a license 

02/18/14 

Marty Rosenquest Wharton, TX Diagnosing pregnancy of a bovine by palpation without a license 02/18/14 

Melinda Wolff Joshua, TX Using a professional ultrasonic dental scaler and polisher on a 

canine without a license 

02/18/14 

Celestino Ortiz Donna, TX Administering rabies vaccinations without the direct supervision of 

a licensed veterinarian, prescribing and dispensing prescription 

drugs and/or representing the willingness to prescribe and dis-

pense prescription drugs to animals without a license 

02/18/14 

John Edwards Stephenville, TX Diagnosing or treating, including determining the need for or per-

forming laparoscopic procedures on goats without a license 

02/18/14 

Jean Motas Rockwall, TX Issuing a fraudulent interstate health certificate 02/18/14 

Patricia Thompson, DVM Gladewater, TX Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription 

vaccines or drugs without a license 

06/03/14 

Andres Torres  Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license 06/03/14 

Luis Torres  Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license 06/03/14 

Rob Cupps Houston, TX Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice 06/03/14 

Desiree Laredo  Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license 06/03/14 

Jamie Cupps Houston, TX Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice 06/03/14 

Minh Tran Houston, TX Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice 06/03/14 

Ayah Istambouli  Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license 06/03/14 

Charles Cooper Winthorst, TX Practicing equine dentistry without a license 06/03/14 

Luis Romero San Antonio, TX Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license 06/03/14 

Richard Beham Spring, TX Prescribing and administering a rabies vaccination, issuing a ra-

bies vaccination certificate without a license 

06/03/14 
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Continuing Education Offerings 

Information on available CE may be obtained through the following sources.  Additional offerings may be available through other sources. For 

information on what is considered “acceptable” CE, please refer to Board Rules 573.64 and 573.65. 

RACE 
(Registry of Approved Continuing Education) 

 

Search for Available CE:  http://www.aavsb.org/RACE/Search 

 

RACE requires approved providers to issue signed certificates of 

completion, maintain attendance records for four years and pro-

vide qualification of instructors and CE personnel who develop 

and implement courses. 

 

Texas A&M 
 

Phone: (979) 845-9102 

Fax: (979) 862-2832 

Email: ceoffice@cvm.tamu.edu 

Texas Veterinary Medical Association 
 

www.tvma.org 

8104 Exchange Dr. 

Austin, TX 78754 

Phone: (512) 452-4224 

Fax: (512) 452-6633 

2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates 
State Board Examination (SBE) Schedule 

 

All State Board Exams, will be administered at participating COMIRA testing centers.  Please read the deadline dates carefully. An 

application must be submitted to TBVME for ALL exams to determine eligibility for veterinary licensure in Texas. Only approved appli-

cants will be able to purchase and schedule the exam through our website. 
 

August 2014 

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: June 27, 2014 

Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: July 14—25, 2014 

Window for taking the exam: August 11—22, 2014 

 

October 2014 

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: August 29, 2014 

Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: September 15—26, 2014 

Window for taking the exam: October 13—24, 2014 

 

December 2014 

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: October 24, 2014 

Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: November 10—21, 2014 

Window for taking the exam: December 8—19, 2014 

Reporting of  Criminal Activity 
 
All licensees and licensure applicants are required to report criminal activity as set out in Board Rule 573.70 which states: 

 

(a) A licensee or an applicant for a license from the Board shall report to the Board no later than the 30th day after he or she is charged 

with, or convicted of any misdemeanor related to the practice of veterinary medicine or equine dentistry, or any felony. 

(b) On a finding by the Board that a licensee has engage in non-drug related criminal conduct or committed a non-drug related felony or 

misdemeanor, other than a misdemeanor under the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic or Highways, Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6701d, or a 

similar misdemeanor traffic offense, the executive director shall notify the district attorney or county attorney of the county in which the 

licensee resides. The notice must be in writing and contain a copy of the Board’s finding and any order of the Board relating to the licen-

see’s conduct. 

(c) On a finding by the Board that a licensee has engaged in drug related criminal conduct or committed a drug related felony or misde-

meanor, the executive director shall notify the Narcotics Service, Texas Department of Public Safety and/or the U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration. The notice must be in writing and contain a copy of the Board’s finding and any order of the Board relating to the licen-

see’s conduct. 

 

Board Rule 575.50(f)(1) lists crimes that are related to and connected with the practice of veterinary medicine. 

http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=22&pt=24&ch=573&rl=64
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=N&p_rloc=156688&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=2&p_tac=&ti=22&pt=24&ch=573&rl=64
http://www.aavsb.org/RACE/Search
mailto:ceoffice@cvm.tamu.edu
http://www.tvma.org
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In Memoriam… 
“Let us hold our lives up to the light of those who walked before us, remembering the footprints they left behind 

and preserving the pathways they created.” 

Jack Fritts, Texas A&M Class of ‘53 

Name City, State Vet School/Grad Year Date of Death 

Marsha Jo Dewalt Hawkins, DVM La Porte, TX TAMU/1969 October 13, 2011 

Robert D. Bluntzer, Jr., DVM Corpus Christi, TX TAMU/1959 February 7, 2013 

Richard Mauldin, DVM Oklahoma City, OK OSU/1968 April 6, 2013 

James Carroll, DVM Corsicana, TX TAMU/1952 November 24, 2013 

A.C. “Doc” Kaltwasser, DVM El Campo, TX TAMU/1943 November 29, 2013 

Robert Leslie Clifford, Jr., DVM De Berry, TX TAMU/1949 December 17, 2013 

Tyrrele DeVolin, DVM El Paso, TX TAMU/1943 December 18, 2013 

Barbara Nichols, DVM Richardson, TX TAMU/1997 December 25, 2013 

Robert Steve Wilson, DVM Tyler, TX TAMU/1971 December 27, 2013 

A.M. Easterling, Jr., DVM Centerville, TX TAMU/1962 December 30, 2013 

Albert Pickard, DVM Raymondville, TX TAMU/1943 January 15, 2014 

Gerald Parker, DVM San Antonio, TX TAMU/1943 February 2, 2014 

Russell S. Stanger, Jr., DVM Brazoria, TX TAMU/1945 February 27, 2014 

George Tolbert, DVM North Richland Hills, TX TAMU/1956 March 9, 2014 

David W. Stormer, DVM Muenster, TX TAMU/1977 March 21, 2014 

Robert McMillan, DVM Midland, TX TAMU/1962 April 4 2014 

Mac Devin, DVM Bryan, TX TAMU/1989 April 7, 2014 

James Marek, DVM Bellville, TX TAMU/1987 April 9, 2014 

Thomas R. McCabe, Jr. El Paso, TX TAMU/1977 April 14, 2014 

Otho Clay Collins, Jr. Midland, TX TAMU/1952 April 23, 2014 

Floyd L. Gunn, DVM College Station, TX TAMU/1943 May 10, 2014 

Joseph Braxton Doak, DVM Dallas, TX TAMU/1949 May 12, 2014 

Richard Johannes “Dick” Thomes, DVM Irving, TX TAMU/1960 May 30, 2014 

Policy for Continuing Education  
Requirements for 

Licensed Veterinary Technicians 
 

The continuing education requirements for Licensed Veteri-

nary technicians, as established in newly adopted Rule 

573.64, will only apply beginning in calendar year 2015. 

Board Rule Spotlight 
 

Board Rule 573.63 Inspection of Facilities and Records 

 

Licensees shall admit a representative of the Board, during regular 

business hours, to inspect equipment and business premises; exam-

ine and/or copy client and patient records, drug records, including, 

but not limited to, invoices, receipts, transfer documents, inventory 

logs, surgery logs; and all other associated records relating to the 

practice of veterinary medicine or equine dentistry. 
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§575.30 Contested Case Hearing at SOAH (State Office of Administrative Hearings) This amendment clarifies the Board’s policy and practice 

to include unlicensed people who are practicing veterinary medicine without a license and are subject to the cease and desist procedures in 

Rule 575.40. Rule 575.40 does not provide for procedures that occur after the informal conference at SOAH. This amendment will add the 

procedures to the Board’s usual procedure before SOAH and the procedures as found in SOAH’s rules. 

 

§577.15 Fee Schedule. This amendment increases fees for regular and inactive expired license renewals by $5 to cover the cost of permit-

ting renewals to occur online for Veterinary Technicians and Equine Dental provider licensees.  These fee increases will be effective for the 

2015 renewal cycle.   

Did You Know??? 
 
Unless you owe for more than the current year, all veterinary licensees can renew their license online through our website. 

 

Peer Assistance 
 
If you or someone you know has a substance abuse problem, it is far better to voluntarily participate in the Peer Assistance Program than to 

run the risk of disciplinary action, up to and including license revocation.  The toll free hotline number is (800) 727-5152. 

 

ADA Accommodations 
 
The TBVME does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age or disability in employment or in the provision 

of services, programs, or activities.  Individuals requesting reasonable accommodations should contact the Board’s ADA Coordinator, Loris 

Jones, at 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, TX 78701-3998, or call (512) 305-7555 or by email at loris.jones@tbvme.state.tx.us. 

Proposed Rule Changes Continued... 

Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 

333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810 

Austin,  Texas 78701 

Phone: 512-305-7555 

Fax: 512-305-7556 

E-mail: vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us 

Website: tbvme.state.tx.us 

Our Mission: 
The mission of the Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 

is to establish and enforce policies to ensure the best possible quality 

of veterinary services for the people of Texas. 

 

Our Philosophy: 
The Board and its staff will act in accordance with the highest stand-

ards of ethics, accountability, efficiency and openness. We affirm that 

protection from less than quality veterinary and equine dental provider 

services is a public and private trust. We approach our activities with a 

deep sense of purpose and responsibility. The public and regulated 

community alike can be assured of a balanced and sensible approach 

to regulation. 

 

Our Goals: 
The Board and its staff will ensure that Texans are effectively and effi-

ciently served by quality veterinary professionals by setting clear stand-

ards for professional conduct, by assuring compliance with the rules of 

professional conduct and the community standard of care, and seek-

ing solutions to issues that strengthen the profession and protect the 

public. 


