
PROPOSED RULE CHANGES 
 
During the October 13, 2015 meeting of the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, the 
Board voted to propose the following rule changes.  The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners invites comments on the proposed amendments to the rules from any member of the 
public.  A written statement should be mailed or delivered to Loris Jones, Texas Board of 
Veterinary Medical Examiners, 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, Texas 78701-3942, by facsimile 
(FAX) to (512) 305-7574, or by e-mail vet.board@veterinary.texas.gov. Comments will be 
accepted for 30 days (November 27, 2015 – December 27, 2015) following publication in 
the Texas Register.  

  



PART 24. TEXAS BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS  
CHAPTER 571. LICENSING  
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL  
22 TAC §571.7  
 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) proposes an amendment to 
§571.7, concerning Veterinary Licensing Eligibility.  
 
Under the current rule, an applicant may apply for the North American Veterinary 
Licensing Examination through the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners prior 
to graduation from veterinary medical school if the applicant provides certification that 
the applicant is within eight months of the expected graduation date. The proposed 
amendment changes the maximum time from graduation from eight months to ten 
months. This proposed amendment will conform the Board's procedures to that of most 
other states.  
 
Nicole Oria, Executive Director, has determined that for each year of the first five years 
that the rule is in effect, there will be no impact on revenue to either state or local 
government as a result of the proposed rule. Ms. Oria has also determined that there will 
be no increase or reduction in costs to either state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering the rule as proposed.  
 
Ms. Oria has further determined that the amendment to the rule will have no impact on 
local employment.  
 
Ms. Oria has also determined that for each year of the first five years the rule is in effect, 
the anticipated public benefit will be that applicants who have not yet graduated will be 
able to begin the application process to take the licensing exam in Texas sooner. In 
addition, the proposed amendment will conform the Board's procedures to that of most 
other states.  
 
Ms. Oria has determined that there will not be any economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the amended rule. There is thus no adverse impact expected for small or 
micro businesses, and no anticipated difference in cost of compliance between small and 
large businesses.  
 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners invites comments on the proposed 
amendment to the rule from any member of the public. A written statement should be 
mailed or delivered to Loris Jones, Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, Texas 78701-3942, by facsimile (FAX) to (512) 305-7574, 
or by e-mail vet.board@veterinary.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
following publication in the Texas Register. Comments must be received within 30 days 
after publication of this proposal in order to be considered.  
 



The amendment is proposed under the authority of the Veterinary Licensing Act, Texas 
Occupations Code, §801.151(a), which states that the Board may adopt rules necessary 
to administer the chapter and §801.307.  
 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal.  
 
§571.7.Veterinary Licensing Eligibility.  

(a) - (e) (No change.)  
(f) Eligibility Prior to Graduation. An applicant for a veterinary license who has not 
graduated from veterinary medical school may apply for the SBE provided the 
following conditions have been met:  

(1) An applicant must be enrolled in an approved and accredited veterinary medical 
school or college as defined in §571.1(10) of this title and must obtain a document 
from the dean of the school or college from which the applicant expects to 
graduate certifying that the applicant is within 60 days of completion of a 
veterinary college program and is expected to graduate.  
(2) An applicant enrolled in a joint or combined degree program who has 
completed the applicant's veterinary medical education but has not received a 
diploma or transcript certifying the award of the applicant's DVM degree, must 
obtain a letter from the dean of the school or college of veterinary medicine stating 
that the applicant did in fact graduate before the applicant is eligible to sit for the 
SBE.  
(3) To apply for the NAVLE through NBVME, a candidate shall, at the time an 
application is submitted, demonstrate that the candidate is:  

(A) a student enrolled in an approved and accredited school or college of 
veterinary medicine as defined in §571.1 10) of this title, and who has 
submitted a document from the dean of the school or college from which the 
student expects to graduate, certifying that the applicant is within ten [eight] 
months of the student's expected graduation date and is expected to graduate, 
and has demonstrated compliance with all of the NBVME's testing requirements 
for the NAVLE; or  
(B) a graduate of a school or college of veterinary medicine not approved and 
accredited, who is enrolled in the ECFVG or PAVE certification program and 
shall submit proof that the applicant passed all English language proficiency 
tests required by the certification program of choice and must have completed 
all other requirements of each program.  

 
  



The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the proposal and found it to be within 
the state agency's legal authority to adopt.  
 
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 16, 2015.  
TRD-201504953  
Loris Jones  
Executive Assistant  
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners  
Earliest possible date of adoption: December 27, 2015  
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7555  
 

 
CHAPTER 573. RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  
SUBCHAPTER G. OTHER PROVISIONS  
22 TAC §573.64  
 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) proposes an amendment to 
§573.64, concerning Continuing Education Requirements.  
 
The Board proposes this amendment to provide that a licensee may not apply continuing 
education hours obtained prior to licensure in Texas to the number of continuing 
education hours required to maintain a license. This change reflects the agency's current 
practice.  
 
Nicole Oria, Executive Director, has determined that for each year of the first five years 
that the rule is in effect, there will be no impact on revenue to either state or local 
government as a result of the proposed rule. Ms. Oria has also determined that there will 
be no increase or reduction in costs to either state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering the rule as proposed.  
 
Ms. Oria has further determined that the amendment to the rule will have no impact on 
local employment.  
 
Ms. Oria has also determined that for each year of the first five years the rule is in effect, 
the anticipated public benefit will be that licensees are meeting the minimum continuing 
education requirements. The amendment will also clarify the required continuing 
education for licensees.  
 
Ms. Oria has determined that any economic cost to persons required to comply with the 
amended rule would be limited to the cost of obtaining the required continuing education 
after becoming licensed in Texas. There is no adverse impact expected for small or micro 
businesses, and no anticipated difference in cost of compliance between small and large 
businesses.  
 



The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners invites comments on the proposed 
amendment to the rule from any member of the public. A written statement should be 
mailed or delivered to Loris Jones, Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, Texas 78701-3942, by facsimile (FAX) to (512) 305-7574, 
or by e-mail vet.board@veterinary.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
following publication in the Texas Register. Comments must be received within 30 days 
after publication of this proposal in order to be considered.  
 
The amendment is proposed under the authority of the Veterinary Licensing Act, Texas 
Occupations Code, §801.151(a), which states that the Board may adopt rules necessary 
to administer the chapter, and §801.307, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules to 
require license holders to complete continuing education courses.  
 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal.  
 
§573.64.Continuing Education Requirements.  

(a) Required Continuing Education Hours.  
(1) Licensed Veterinarians. Seventeen (17) hours of acceptable continuing 
education shall be required annually for renewal of all types of Texas veterinary 
licenses, except as provided in subsection (b) of this section. Veterinary licensees 
who successfully complete the Texas State Board Licensing Examination shall 
receive credit for 17 continuing education hours for the calendar year in which 
they were examined and licensed.  
(2) Licensed Equine Dental Providers. Six (6) hours of acceptable continuing 
education shall be required annually for renewal of Texas equine dental provider 
licenses.  
(3) Licensed Veterinary Technicians. Ten (10) hours of acceptable continuing 
education shall be required annually for renewal of Texas veterinary technician 
licenses.  
(4) A licensee shall earn the required hours of acceptable continuing education 
during the calendar year immediately preceding the licensee's application for 
license renewal. Should a licensee earn acceptable continuing education hours 
during the year in excess of the required hours, the licensee may carry over and 
apply the excess hours to the requirement for the next year. Licensees may carry 
over excess hours to the following year only, and may not carry over more hours 
than the licensee is required to earn in a calendar year.  
(5) Hardship extensions may be granted by appeal to the Executive Director of the 
Board. The executive director shall only consider requests for a hardship extension 
from licensees who were prevented from completing the required continuing 
education hours due to circumstances beyond the licensee's control. A hardship 
extension generally will not be allowed due to financial hardship or lack of time 
due to a busy professional or personal schedule. Requests for a hardship extension 
must be received in writing and in the Board offices by no later than December 
15. Should such extension be granted, twice the number of hours of continuing 



education required for a standard annual license renewal shall be obtained in the 
two-year period of time that includes the year of insufficiency and the year of 
extension. Licensees receiving a hardship extension shall maintain records of the 
continuing education obtained and shall file copies of these records with the Board 
by attaching the records to the license renewal application submitted following the 
extension year, or by sending them to the Board separately if the licensee submits 
his or her renewal application electronically (on-line).  
(6) Except as provided in subsection (a)(1) of this section, continuing education 
hours obtained prior to licensure in Texas may not be applied toward the required 
number of continuing education hours.  

(b) - (c) (No change.)  
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the proposal and found it to be within 
the state agency's legal authority to adopt.  
 
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 16, 2015.  
TRD-201504956  
Loris Jones  
Executive Assistant  
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners  
Earliest possible date of adoption: December 27, 2015  
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7555  
 


